Findlay Brown – Songs Of Inspiration

findlay

A wistful, romantic and heartfelt collection of oldies here from folk troubadour Findlay Brown. Great to see sounds like this getting some recognition. As an aside – be sure to seek out the remixes done for Findlay Brown by Pilooski, Beyond The Wizard’s Sleeve and Mickey Moonlight. All are golden.

“I started listening to a lot of stuff which I knew so well but almost took for granted – songs you never paid serious attention to because they are so well known. Songs like My Girl, Be My Baby, Stand By Me. I start listening to them in a different way, and working out what was so great about them. I’m not saying the songs I’ve written as a result can stand up next to them, but I’m not ashamed to try and aspire to those standards.” – Findlay Brown

I Only Have Eyes for You – The Flamingos
Comin’ Home Baby – Mel TormÈ
Stamping Ground – Moondog
Be My Baby – The Ronettes
Sleepwalk – Santo & Johnny
Borne On The Wind – Roy Orbison
Fool for You – The Impressions
I’m Your Witch Doctor – John Mayall’s Blues breakers
Born To Be With You – Dion
Baby It’s You – The Shirelles
Please Stay – The Cryin’ Shames
The Night – Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons
The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face – Roberta Flack
Johnny Remember Me – John Leyton
Wishing for Your Love – The Voxpoppers
Deborah’s Theme – Ennio Morricone
Mystery Train – Elvis Presley
Bo Diddley – Bo Diddley
Be Not So Fearful – Bill Fay
Just for You – Sam Cooke
Born Free – Matt Monro
Who Has the Last Laugh Now – Bloodstone
Ballade De Melody Nelson – Serge Gainsbourg
Haunted Feelings – Rahsaan Roland Kirk

LINK (right click/save as)

