Mr. Fab – Weird Punk Cali

cali-punk

And now for something completely different via Music For Maniacs, a hard to find selection of wild and crazy punk from the land of wild and crazy, California.

Here’s a batch of rare, out-of-print ’70s/’80s California coolness that I’ve ripped from my vinyl archives. So far as I know, most of this stuff, originating from The Bay Area to LA and all points in between, hasn’t been shared on-line before.

This isn’t just nostalgia. I love these tunes. There’s no typical hardcore. It’s all across the map: you’ll hear electro-pop, goth post-punk, woodwinds,
femme vox + acoustic bass, devolved covers, power-pop, a proto-mashup, and whatever the hell The Fibonaccis were.
“Punk” was a big umbrella term in those days.
” – Mr.Fab

The Humans – I Live In The City
Fibonaccis – Second Coming
Baby Buddha – Robot Police
Wild Kingdom – Roma-Destiny
Los Microwaves – Radio Heart
ki-di-me – Mother Is
Jed Gould – LACA Perv
Hesitations – Window Love
The Units – The Right Man
The Ophelias – Palindrome
The Bakersfield Boogie Boys – Get Off of My Cloud
Zasu Pitts Memorial Orchestra – Summertime/Peter Gunn
The Humans – Don’t Be Afraid Of The Dark
Fibonaccis – Sergio Leone
Alex Gibson – Grey Turns to Black
Strong Silent Types – Fred Cadaver’s Accident
The Ophelias – Mr. Rabbit

LINK

