Brownswood presents Best Of Bubblers: A Mixtape


The institution that is Brownswood Recordings, the London-based indie label created by globe trotting purveyor of all sounds soulful and inspired, Gilles Peterson, opened it’s doors in 2006 with the simple aim of releasing good new music, music with soul – no matter where it’s from or what the style.

And what a journey it’s been since then. Gilles is still flying around, dropping unexpected dancefloor gems on party people around the world. And his Worldwide show on BBC Radio 1 is still a weekly staple for music heads tuning in for anything from vintage folk to dubstep. Meanwhile Brownswood has released a stream of new music.

“To celebrate the release of Brownswood Bubblers 4 on the 24th of August 2009, Brownswood have put together a special ‘Best Of Bubblers Mixtape‘ featuring a selection of some of their favourite tracks from all four Bubblers compilations. If your new to the Bubblers series, then this will give you a taste of what they are all about. If your a seasoned Bubbler then this mix is sure to press all the right buttons.”

1. Soundspecies – Can We Call It Love (with Ahu) [BB4]
2. Simbad feat. Steelo – Soul Fever [BB1]
3. Bullion – Get Familiar [BB3]
4. NSM – The Hype [BB2]
5. Katalyst feat. Steve Spacek – How Bout Us [BB3]
6. Cornish Waters feat. Duchess – Walking [BB2]
7. Ayak & First Man – Can We Go Back? [BB1]
8. DJ Day – A Place To Go [BB3]
9. Mayer Hawthorne – Maybe So, Maybe No [BB4]
10. Iman – Who Was I Trying To Fool [BB1]
11. Flying Lotus – Tea Leaf Dancers [BB2]
12. New Look – Everything [BB4]