The Black Dog & Regis presents Ssg Special: High-Rise Living 78-86 [Part 1]

The darkness of the Sheffield post industrial landscape of urban decay and the plight of the poor were reflected by the musicians featured in this mix made by the inimitable Black Dog and Regis.

Spiky funk, urgent vocals and tight staccato rhythms punctuate the UK’s very own NoWave movement. If you’ve never experienced these futuristic clangs and bangs voiced by alienated young men and women intent on speaking about their lives and the lives they aspired to create, then you’re in for a trip indeed. For further information, check out these clips at Sheffield Vision from the dvd’s Made In Sheffield and the sequel The Beat Is The Law.

1. Depeche Mode – Oberkorn
2. Xerox Girls – Erase Me
3. Human League – The Dignity Of Labour: Part 1
4. Soft Cell – Metro Mr. X
5. Naked Lunch – Slipping Again
6. Robert Rental & Thomas Leer – Day Breaks, Night Heals
7. Clock Dva – 4 Hours
8. Blancmange – Running Thin
9. Patrik Fitzgerald – One Little Soldier
10. They Must Be Russians – Nagasaki’s Children
11. Chris & Cosey – Walking Through Heaven
12. Hula – Poison
13. Portion Control – Havoc Man
14. New Order – Temptation Of Evil Dust
15. Nitzer Ebb – Warsaw Ghetto
16. Final Program – Protect & Survive
17. The The – Cold Spell Ahead
18. Cabaret Voltaire – Why Kill Time (When You Can Kill Yourself)
19. Vice Versa – Stilyagi
20. Duet Emmo – Heart Of Hearts (Or So It Seems)