Hidden Orchestra presents Night Walks On Vinyl Mixtape

A great mix to set us all off into Meatskull’s 4th year – Soundscaping, spoken word, re-edits and choice choons par excellence via the Paris DJ’s website in this superb mix by The Hidden Orchestra. Thanks to my man Steve Sonius for hipping me to this on facebook.

“To celebrate the release of the Night Walks album on deluxe vinyl (thanks to Denovali Records), Joe Acheson of Hidden Orchestra (Tru Thoughts Recordings) has put together this studio mixtape. Like the preceding Footsteps Mix, this carefully-sculpted selection rewards close listening, and contains numerous exclusive tracks, lots of sound design and plenty of spoken word. Catch the band live on their European tour March-April 2011, and throughout the festival season.”

Antiphon – Hidden Orchestra (Tru Thoughts/Denovali)
Dream of a Strange Land (by Graham Greene) – read by Hugh Burden (Talking Tape Co.)
Thograinn Thograinn (Joe Acheson refix) – MacMaster/Hay (MacMaster/Hay)
El Presidente (acapella) – Jeru the Damaja (Red Urban Music)
Strange – Hidden Orchestra (Tru Thoughts/Denovali)
(anonymous Ukrainian song) – recorded by Matt Thompson in Kiev 2004
Outi’s Favourite Sound – interview in Jyvaskyla 2009
Longevity (acapella) – J-Live (Groove Attack)
Les Gardes Volent au Secours du Roi – Jean-Claude Vannier (Finders Keepers)
Jean-Claude – Slepton & Public (Double Dope)
Musst Musst (Joe Acheson refix) – Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan (Real World)
Suicide Murder (acapella) – Bounty Killer feat. Jeru the Damaja (Massive B)
The Mast – Araya (Benbecula)
The Pit and the Pendulum (by Edgar Allan Poe) – read by Christopher Lee (Listen For Pleasure)
What Does Your Soul Look Like (pt.3) – DJ Shadow (Mo Wax)
Open Spaces – Jonny Greenwood (Nonesuch)
Tired & Awake – Hidden Orchestra (Tru Thoughts/Denovali)
Ganky – Christ. (Benbecula)
Between Two Worlds (by Yolanda Pupo-Thompson) – BBC R3 drama feat. Owen Teale
Minor Down (remix of Benjamin Dauer) – Mrs Jynx (Planet Mu)
The Royal Game (by Stefan Zweig) – BBC R3 drama feat. Paul Rhys
Joyous Insolence – Xploding Plastix (Beatservice)
Sidewinders – Sixtoo (Ninja Tune)
Flying Officer – Skalpel (Ninja Tune)
Birds of Prey – Architeq (Tirk)
Moviedrome pt.2 (acapella) – Life (Zebra Traffic)
Samurai – Shurik’n (Delabel)
We Specialize (acapella) – CL Smooth (Pete Rock & CL Smooth)
Queens Get the Money – All Natural (All Natural Inc)
(tribute to Ghandi) – Albert Einstein
Hideyaface Reprise (Shaolin Finale) (Reminder & Prefuse Notate Small Ensemble Version) – Prefuse 73 (Warp)
(Shout) – Tajai
Old Molly Metcalfe – Jake Thackray (EMI)
River Man (Joe Acheson refix) – Nick Drake (Island)
Nude (acapella) – Radiohead (XL)
Changes – Lost Twin (Throw Some Shapes)
Chewing on Glass – Sixtoo (Ninja Tune)
Rehearsal of Mozart’s Symphony no.36 (Joe Acheson refix) – Bruno Walter conducting the Columbia Symphony Orchestra (Philips)
Dance of Death (Joe Acheson refix) – The Galactic Light Orchestra (Polydor)
Midnight in a Perfect World (Gab Mix) – DJ Shadow (Mo Wax)
Building Steam from a Grain of Salt – DJ Shadow (Mo Wax)
Live at Spike (acapella poetry recital) – Kate Tempest
Blah (Moph Refix) – TY in interview with Emily Towers
Elders (Wadadda Refix) – The Clouds (Jahtari)
Babylon – Mungo’s Hi Fi (Scrub-a-Dub)
Glory Box (acapella) – Portishead (Go! Beat)
Terror Planet – Truth (Aquatic Lab)
Moviedrome pt.1 (acapella) – Life (Zebra Traffic)
The Book of Right-On (Wadadda ‘Shallow Refix’) – Joanna Newsom (Drag City)
Devious Dan – Xploding Plastix (Beatservice)
Undergrowth – Hidden Orchestra (Tru Thoughts/Denovali)
Between Two Worlds – feat. Owen Teale and Sandy Grierson